Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Dreamlight

Add or save presets and missing save preset icon

Recommended Posts

Hi All,

Trying to figure out how best to save the changes/settings after I've worked on a RAW file.

 

I've looked in the Affinity Help and so far while looking in the Basic Develop Persona section I found mention of "Save Presets" and an icon associated with it. (see the screen shot attached). I've also found a mention in the forums of adding presets via the pull down menu above the Basic/Exposure settings (screen shot also attached)

 

It's difficult finding specific topics in the built in help as some things are mentioned once but can not be used as search criteria to find out more info.

 

Having used Photoshop previously I think some of the trouble is terminology and a bit of semantics, but it would be good to clear up what means what, and how you might be able to see changes after you save a Raw file as when I return to a changed and saved Raw/af.photo file the sliders are all back to zero, which is not what I'm used to using Photoshop.

 

So, questions:

 

1. How does one see what changes have been made to a Raw file after adjustments have been made and the file saved and re-opened, as it seems on reopening all the sliders are zeroed and not showing the changes that had been made?

 

2. Where can the "Save Presets" icon shown in Affinity Help be found on screen or in which menu?

 

3. Is there an equivalent of an .xmp file created after adjusting a RAW file?

 

4. Do you have to "add preset" via the Basic pull down menu each time you want to save your adjusted settings to each and every file instead of it re-opening with the settings already done and showing on the sliders?

 

5. Is "adding" the same or equivalent of "saving" presets, or are they two separate things doing two different jobs? (tried to illustrate this with another screen shot)

 

Think that covers it.

 

post-16849-0-60205900-1439554420_thumb.png

post-16849-0-56577800-1439554436_thumb.png

post-16849-0-87328400-1439554447_thumb.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Dreamlight,

 

Welcome to the forums :)

 

I will answer your questions in the order they were asked.

 

1. When you make Adjustments in the Develop Persona and apply these changes it's not possible to change these Adjustments again. However our Developers are hoping to add Non destructive Develop Layer which should solve this issue. For more information please see our RoadMap.

 

2. This icon has been removed and replaced with Add Preset. I have logged this with our Development team and the in App help will be updated. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

 

3. This isn't possible at the moment. However this may come in the future.

 

4/5. When you add a Preset you are saving any Adjustments made so that they may be used again on another file. These added/ saved presets are saved in the App so when you open and close the App they should reappear.

 

I hope this helps :)

 

C


Please tag me using @ in your reply so I can be sure to respond ASAP.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would like to add that in the beta version after adding presets and opening a new file to apply these new presets, the preset dropdown does not revert back to "default", even though one is seeing default. So its a minor bug but nonetheless it should be addressed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Please note the Annual Company Closure section in the Terms of Use. These are the Terms of Use you will be asked to agree to if you join the forum. | Privacy Policy | Guidelines | We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.