jennifer

how do I change background fill on text box?

Hi - I'm new to Affinity (from Illustrator and Photoshop) but I'm having trouble finding info on how to do the basics - old habits from the CS software I guess

How do I change the background fill on a text box??

I can change the fill on a shape no problem,

but all that shows up on the menu when I'm working on a text box is a fill color for the text itself - what am I missing?

thanks

yep - thanks that's what I've done, but it seems clumsy for such an elegantly designed program -

guess I'm really waiting for Publisher since I mostly do page layout

Jennifer

MEB,

I just tried that suggestion; as the Show Character didn't have an arrow indicating any sub menu and I have not needed Show Character yet, I had no idea this was there!

I still do not know where I might have a use for this that an additional shape with a fill would not work better/easier but it is definitely going into the toolbag for when the day comes that I do want it.

Thanks!

Hi justwilliam,

It's not supposed to be an alternative solution. I agree with you, it's not of much use other than maybe highlight some text.

What you suggested is the best way to solve it. That's why i said it wasn't the same thing.

Currently there's no way to set a fill colour for the text box and even if there was, there no space around the text inside it so it would look too tight.

Maybe if there was an option to set a padding value or something... but that's probably going to far for this  :P

That's not true, MEB, as the text box could have basic padding and alignment attributes. That was even a basic attribute of tables in Microsoft Word in the 90s.

Affinity Designer doesn't have that feature, and, okay, fine, but what you therefore claimed is not true.

It would be a very useful feature because then I could modify the shape, content, or style of the text box without then having to modify the box beneath it.