You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Affinity Publisher newbie here. After working in Publisher with an image that had changed from "image" to "pixel", I found I was no longer able to draw a thin rule around it in the way it can be done with a text frame or image frame. There's always the Outline layer effect, but it does the job only partway. With Outline there don't seem to be controls for how the corners are drawn—they are always rounded. But is there a way to alter the corners using some other controls in the program?

Affinity Publisher and Photo 1.8.3 (Windows). Lenovo laptop with decidedly sub-optimal monitor. At least it works.
“The wonderful thing about standards is that you can have as many of ’em as you want.”
– Anonymous cynic

I think you should be able to add a Stroke to the boundary of a Pixel layer in Publisher (or the other Affinity apps) but I can’t seem to be able to do that for some reason, see attached image (from Designer, but same thing in Publisher). Maybe it’s too early on a Sunday morning but this doesn’t make sense to me at the moment. Surely I must be doing something wrong, or forgetting something basic/important.

Annotation 2020-06-07 083925.png

I'm jealous that you can attach screen shots to your messages. It still doesn't work for me in this forum. I've written again to Serif asking when it might be fixed.

The rules around the pixel objects surely don't work for me. And I ran across something else unexpected (it might be working as designed, but *I* didn't expect it). I was talking about this tiny project with someone in another forum. I told him: the goal is to take two pasted objects (something that was too large to get into a single screen shot), make them a single object, and draw a rule around the completed rectangular object. These two objects are (initially) Images and not Pixel objects.