You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Hi Walt, following some discussion under "Absolute beginner" here is an example of what I've come across.

"Sample Squiggle" was a blank document, in which I made a random squiggle in black with the pixel tool.

I then copied and pasted it (using Cmd C and Cmd V), and used the Move tool to slide the copied version away downwardss from the original.

If you enlarge it to, say, 3,000% you will clearly see a mid-grey artefact attached  somewhat unpredicatbly to the shape of the original.  Less obvious is a very pale grey artifact, usually on the opposite side of the line.  Some bits of the line are not affected at all, so far as I can see. I found three levels of grey.

I would copy from my diagram, but in pasting it into a document you could see I would be corrupting it anyway, which would be confusing.  But if you care to believe me I will say that I usually get more complicated blurring than this.

I've put up the original diagram, renamed as "Wiring x", and at position 57 on the scale at the bottom of the page, and about half way between top and bottom there is a box with the legend 'Na 7' in it.  The box is made of two black one-pixel-width lines, with the space between them filled with pink.  A similar box, with the legend 'Na 5' is to be found at 47 on the bottom scale and a bit above the middle vertically; it show no sign of blurring.  I can't say for certain whether this is something which I copied without the paste problem, or something I made from scratch.  But this is what Na 7 looked like originally.  The pattern of artefacts is similar, but different.  The letter 'N' has artefaacts on both sides of its legs and of its diagonal.

You will see that the original single-pixel line is still there in my 'Squiggle' example, but it has been lost in the Na 7 example.

Interestingly, when I opened the diagram the squiggle vanished.  Luckily I had saved it!

Best regards, Tony.

Wiring_x.afphoto