You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Welcome to the forums.
Various forum members use the Affinity applications to create maps of different kinds and stratigraphic columns – if I am looking at the right thing – don’t seem to be difficult to do.
Is there some specific thing that you are struggling with?

I really am a total beginner, having out of the field for about 20 years and now coming back, and I have little tech/digital expertise or experience.

Can you suggest tools in Affinity to help me just get started, e.g., making columns with different symbols to indicate different rock types, etc., etc?

I have explored many of the tutorials which Affinity offers, but most are either very basic or far too complex and not addressing things that I need.  I'm a sedimentologist, so stratigraphic columns with symbols etc. is a big part of what I want to create.

Thanks, Julia

Lagarto: That’s probably all very good advice but Julia said that she’s a “total beginner”, so mentions of things like ASE palettes and swatch patterns probably don’t mean a lot to her. It sounds like she needs information on how to get ‘the basics’ done first.

Julia: Can you give us a visual example of what you would like to recreate, or something like what you want? Once we have some idea of your requirements we can probably start to give specific help. From what I have seen of such diagrams they shouldn’t be too difficult to recreate but we need to know the style (and, to some degree, the content) of what you’re trying to put together.

Thank you, GarryP and Lagarto for your responses.  Yes, much of what Lagarto refers to is a stretch for me to understand.  But I think we are moving in the right direction.  I will explore Inkscape, I was not aware of Inkscape before.