You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Recreate air balloon in affinity designer

Hi all

I'm a fairly novice designer and I'd like to recreate a hot air balloon image in Affinity Designer desktop, particularly to take advantage of vector graphics so I can re-shade and adapt the image. I've followed a long a few tutorials about changing the shape of lines and closing curves, but I'm still a bit lost at where to start with this balloon.

From breaking down the problem, I think the main thing I'm stuck on is how to curve lines to accurately match the segments shown on the image that make out the red and the beige shapes. How can I accurately draw these lines/curves to match the balloon shape? Does anyone have any pointers?

Many thanks in advance!

balloon.png

Hi,

1 hour ago, goose1987 said:

From breaking down the problem, I think the main thing I'm stuck on is how to curve lines to accurately match the segments shown on the image that make out the red and the beige shapes. How can I accurately draw these lines/curves to match the balloon shape? Does anyone have any pointers?

First I would place the ballon image inside on a locked and dimmed down layer, so you have a sort of tracing template you can follow. - Then there are several ways of drawing those curved segments.

You can follow and redraw the segments shape flow with the pen tool, just make sure you close drawn paths, so you can color fill etc. them later. Or you use some from the already available shapes like the half circle or sickle shape, draw one and convert it's shape to curves (right clcik menu on a shape) so you can modify (drag/move) and add nodes to that curve to rebuild one of those balloon segments.

Here as an example I used a sickle shape for rebuilding a ballon segment ...

ballon_sickel.jpg.d1acc890f5062a0292304fc2f2d8c659.jpg

☛ Affinity Designer 1.10.8 ◆ Affinity Photo 1.10.8 ◆ Affinity Publisher 1.10.8 ◆ OSX El Capitan