You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

AP Gradient Tool

I LOVE Affinity Photo. I love it so much that I switched from Photoshop last year. There were SO many things wrong with PS and so many great things about AP that switching was not difficult. However, as I've been using AP over the last six months, I have come to realize that THE GRADIENT TOOL needs A LOT of improvement. There are other issues / tools that could also use some improvement, but the gradient tool stands out the most for me.

Whenever I use it, I am confused about how to use it. I've viewed forums, online tutorials and YouTube videos that do instruct users on how to use it properly, but I "forget" how to use it almost every time. I'm a seasoned graphic designer too. I was a PS user for over twenty years. Using such a tool shouldn't be so hard and bothersome. I always end up having to re-create gradients and I have problems when trying to create "transparent" gradients. 

It seems creating a simple transparent single color gradient (overlay) should not be so difficult. Also, I'd rather NOT have to constantly change the default gradient colors to black and white EVERY time I use it. Why is grey the default color setting for the gradient tool? My complaints aren't so much about default colors as it is general performance. I understand how gradients work. I dare say that Photoshop's gradient tool works like a breeze. It works perfectly. Why must AP's approach to gradients be so difficult? Another frustrating part of using gradients in AP is how hard it is to use the tool to blend two images together. I find it odd that one has to use a "mask" to get two images to blend into each other via a gradient.