You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Dear fellows,
I'm an illustrator user for more than 20 years.
I now try to figure out how to draw in Affinity designer as precicely as I’m used to … honestly, it feels like the early days of Illustrator, (waiting decades for features, always looking for workarounds for the easiest tasks).

This time I built some free forms i.e. with the boolean functions. I then try to align a new forms center magnetically to a point which lies NOT on the outer side of the existing form … I can‘t!?!

Does anyone know how to do this (without a helping 3rd form like a rectangle or any other anoying workaround).

See image.

Kindest regards, freddy

object-alignement.jpg

Edited by fredolone

If you use the point transform tool you can get it to do this. Oddly, that tool is not present on the toolbar by default, so add it in (View > Customise Tools...). It looks like a center point with a diagonal dotted line leading out to a red cornerpiece. When you use that tool there are a lot more neat things that happen! It's useful for aligning things to other objects (angles etc).

I'm not entirely sure why they haven't put this tool on the tool panel by default. It's a great tool and actually allows some quite complex stuff that other software doesn't do, so why they've left it hidden away is a mystery!