You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

RAW images by Sony alpha 6600 opens extremely dark

I have just got a Sony alpha 6600 with the kit lens 18-135. When I  open the raw files in Affinity, the pictures are extremely dark. If I increase the exposure, the highlights are completely blown out. If I open the file in other viewers, the exposure is fine. Since I am new to Affinity, maybe I missing a setting or something?

I don't see the lens in the list of supported lenses. Is that the problem?

I am attaching a file.

DSC00221.ARW

• Staff

Hi star4514,

Welcome to the forums :)

I've downloaded the RAW file provided and opened this in Affinity Photo and PS Camera RAW. Below is a screenshot showing these side-by-side -

Screenshot_(3).png

These seem very similar to me, could you please confirm, are you seeing results different to mine shown in Affinity?

Please Note: I am now out of the office until Tuesday 2nd April on annual leave.

If you require urgent assistance, please create a new thread and a member of our team will be sure to assist asap.

Many thanks :)

Hi Dan,

Yes, my results are different. I have attached screenshots of the picture as opened in Affinity and as opened in Irfanview. Also attached another picture as it opens in Affinity and the same one opened in Irfanview. The difference is striking: the Affinity is way too dark and the other looks normal. No editing done to either shots.  I just don't know why the difference and I don't seem to be able to do any adjustments in Affinity to correct the darkness. It is the same with all other pictures I  open in Affinity. Before I got this camera I used Lightroom 5 but it does not open the raw files from the a6600 so I can't compare directly.

Any suggestions would be welcome.

Capture 1 Affinity.JPG

Capture 1 Irfanview.JPG

Capture 2 Affinity.JPG

Capture 2 Irfanview.JPG

• Staff