You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Preflight Warning Level tooltips

In the Preflight studio, the tooltips that appears when hovering over the warning level buttons "Disabled," "Warning," and "Error" simply repeat the button names. An improvement could be a concise explanation of what they do, as the user might be curious about the difference of warning and error. Which, by the way, I am. Is the primary difference that "error" will bring up an error message on print and export, while "warning" will just make note in the panel and the status icon?

This is my first time to really play with the Preflight Studio, and I am really excited about it. Here are a few observations:

With a little experimenting, it seems that choosing the warning level "warning" will cause a yellow notice in the preflight studio, but the status bar icon remains green. I suggest the status bar also (optionally?) indicates yellow warnings.

Naming one of the "warning level" options as "warning" is going to cause some confusion or ambiguities in help manuals and online discussions, which I discovered when trying to indicate above that the warning level I had chosen was warning. I suggest alternate terminology, such as "notice" for the mid-level warning option.

It would be nice to be able to dismiss warnings. To give an example, let's say I have activated the Proportional Scaling warning, and in my document I have one particular image that I have intentionally scaled disproportionately, while all other images I have not done so. I would naturally expect to get a warning about that one image, but it would be good if I could somehow "dismiss" or maybe "check off" that warning to indicate that I acknowledge that particular issue was intentional, while still allowing the test to continue to be active, lest I accidentally do the same on another image where I did not want it.