Jump to content
Old Bruce

[1.8.0.523] Closing unsaved New Document gives two Modal dialogs with no "Don't Save" option.

Recommended Posts

Weird behaviour with closing a new document which is unsaved. I have two modal windows pop up, first one is what I think of as normal the second appears and is lacking the Don't Save option.
This is for New Documents only, at least I think it is. Opening an existing Document and making changes then closing it the regular Don't Save/Cancel/Save window is offered.
Both OS 10.12.6 and 10.14.6 are exhibiting this behaviour.

As you can see the regular window will appear after I click cancel on the first.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can you constantly reproduce this? If I close a modified document, click "Save" and then "Cancel" it just returns me to the document, which is what seems to be happening in the screen recording, I don't get the second save message.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the video, there is a brief flash of the more complete dialog, then the save dialog that is pointing to the Templates folder, then when that one is dismissed we see the first (more complete) dialog again.

I wonder if it's significant that the middle dialog is pointing to the Templates folder?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Jon P said:

Can you constantly reproduce this? If I close a modified document, click "Save" and then "Cancel" it just returns me to the document, which is what seems to be happening in the screen recording, I don't get the second save message.

I get two brief flashes of two different dialog boxes, seems to happen sometimes sometimes not. I believe it is more prevalent after logging out and in again or restarting the computer.

I can't give a recipe for it other than ...

Okay, try making a new document from one of your own presets. I mean a hand made preset, not a tailor made, roll it by hand. Modify it and close without saving (without ever having saved it... that is important) see what happens then. Maybe it is from my preset or from my preset from the retail version.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just tried it on mine and I get the correct dialog. I opened the New dialog, created a new doc, added a table, then tried closing the window. 

Note: This was using one of my created presets, new doc, only added a table, then tried to close window/file.

 

Screen Shot 2020-01-09 at 11.44.57 AM.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm seeing the same as Bruce - but also sometimes instead it instantly closes without saving. This is with any standard preset from the new document dialog (A4, A5, A6). The Save as dialog that comes up is pointing to the last-used location.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Quote

In the video, there is a brief flash of the more complete dialog, then the save dialog that is pointing to the Templates folder,

Quote

This is with any standard preset from the new document dialog (A4, A5, A6)

So I can see this flash which looks wrong when double clicking a preset from the new document dialog to open it, Even so when I click "Cancel" on the I don't see it again, I have seen it instantly close both dialogs though.

I'll get this logged, I suspect when the above gets fixed it should iron out all of the issues people see here as it all seems related.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We have made fixes/improvements to this area (Close/Save As dialogs are closed before any action can be taken) of the program in the latest customer beta. If you would like to try these changes the beta software is available in the forum posts listed below.

The latest beta builds are downloadable from links at the top of each of these beta forum posts.

These betas install parallel, next to the release version (they do not overwrite your release) and so the fixes can be tried in the beta without affecting your normal workflow in the release version.

Once these programs have been through a full beta process the change will be released in a future free 1.8.0 update/patch to all customers.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Please note the Annual Company Closure section in the Terms of Use. These are the Terms of Use you will be asked to agree to if you join the forum. | Privacy Policy | Guidelines | We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.