Jump to content

Recommended Posts

I was editing a photo with Affinity Photo on macOS Catalina 10.15.1 and I wanted to preview it with the macOS Preview app, however when I tried to open macOS showed me an error message: (External update error 1) and I could not preview the file UNTIL I closed it on Affinity Photo.

I am new to Affinity products and I come from Adobe, I don't remember this happening with Photoshop or Illustrator, is there a way to disable this behavior so I can open files while I'm editing them with Affinity Photo or Designer?

Edited by Ivandigital
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Moderators

Hi @Ivandigital the apps don't have an option to disable or change how they open files. Not all of the file is loaded into memory, once editing is done and the app is closed it will release the file so other apps can open.

Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, Ivandigital said:

The funny thing is this seems to happen only when trying to open the file with the Preview app on macOS, I can perfectly open the file with Chrome or Safari and other apps.

The way it should work, enforced by the OS, is only one app that can make changes (edits) to a saved document can open it at a time, while apps that cannot change it can open it at the same time as one (& only one) that can edit it has it open.

Since browsers can't change the contents of a saved file, they can open it when it is open in an editor like Affinity, but Preview cannot because it also can make changes.

There are exceptions to this, but the apps have to be programed specifically to share the same file without competing for write access to the file.

Affinity Photo 1.9.3, Affinity Designer 1.9.3, Affinity Publisher 1.9.3;  2020 iMac 27"; 3.8GHz i7, Radeon Pro 5700, 32GB RAM; macOS 10.15.7
Affinity Photo 
1.92.236 & Affinity Designer 1.9.2 (showing 1.9.9) for iPad; 6th Generation iPad 32 GB; Apple Pencil; iPadOS 14.4 (18D52)

Link to post
Share on other sites
On 12/7/2019 at 6:36 PM, R C-R said:

The way it should work, enforced by the OS, is only one app that can make changes (edits) to a saved document can open it at a time, while apps that cannot change it can open it at the same time as one (& only one) that can edit it has it open.

Since browsers can't change the contents of a saved file, they can open it when it is open in an editor like Affinity, but Preview cannot because it also can make changes.

There are exceptions to this, but the apps have to be programed specifically to share the same file without competing for write access to the file.

I agree that it's a good idea to lock the file while someone is working on it, but a message like this makes me wonder if it's being locked in the proper way.

746506923_errormessage.png.a51fdeb25ec4c281ec0822be083313bf.png

Note: I know this is not an error message from Affinity Designer but from macOS or Preview.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Please note there is currently a delay in replying to some post. See pinned thread in the Questions forum. These are the Terms of Use you will be asked to agree to if you join the forum. | Privacy Policy | Guidelines | We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.