You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Please add bitmap overlay to FX

I am new to Affinity Photo (AP). I moved over, because Photoshop CS (PS) won't run on Mac Catalina and I refuse to rent software (Photoshop CC) that is critical to my work, unless there is absolutely no other choice.

I have already learned that I can do almost everything that I do in PS, in AP. However one critical part is missing. That is Bitmap Pattern Overlays in Effects, particularly as it applies to text.

Here is a portion of a book cover that I did in PS. Notice how the surface of the font is textured, as though the text was cut out of a block of rough gold, but the edges are shiny, as though beveled.

RichDontPayTax-cov-tet.thumb.jpg.ea7f0539f7496146f5376b89c1cc5de9.jpg

Next is a LOGO on a website that I created in PS. Notice that the surface looks like brushed chrome, but the beveled edges (which are really a stroke or outline) are shiny, with no brushed overlay. Also, due to the mixture of light and dark on the surface, the font translates well, either on a light or dark background.

rv-inspector-motorhome-text1.thumb.jpg.96ec47725c5f436cf6ceb5836c84e356.jpg

Finally, here is the best that I have been able to achieve in AP, on the chrome font, followed by a close up of the PS version. Notice that there is no brushed bitmap overlay on the surface of the AP version, like on the PS version. Also, without that texture, the AP version looks great on a white background, but it washes out significantly on a dark background. By contrast, the PS version stands out on either light or dark background. As you can see, looking at the two images, one above the other, the difference is remarkable.

rv-insp-zoom1.thumb.jpg.47ebcfbb108deb48b653c54e8f45ae7b.jpg

rv-insp-z.jpg.cca7485aa62b71f39aba378d19e28a1d.jpg

I have not yet been able to come anywhere close to duplicating the gold font on the book cover.