Jump to content

Recommended Posts

BUG

I don't see any use of "lock" on layers. If I'm working on 100 layers, and I've saved a few layers as references and locked them.. but if layer is selected and (not intentionally) and an Assistance will come and will say.. "HA HA HA... this time I have killed you " It does't even tell me that my layer is locked, I accidentally selected a locked layer out of 100 layers, and that is not preserved anymore.

 

How to reproduce:

1. Create a document
2. Draw something on selected layer
3. Lock this layer
4. Select Eraser and Erase some part on the layer image
5. this layer will be unlocked by itself and A small Assistance will appear that "

image.png.bc069f1d1ebb32534bbfad8d89b33b78.png

 

It should prompt that layer is locked and you can't edit it.. 

 

 

MacOS Catalina - 10.15 (19A602)
Affinity Photo 1.7.3

Macbook Pro -mid 15, 15inch.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi mfarooqi,
The lock feature only prevents layers from being selected on canvas. If there's already an existing locked layer selected or if you select it directly directly in the Layers panel you can still edit/transform that layer.

Additionally a pixel layer located on the bottom of the layer stack can exceptionally be selected on canvas (for technical reasons). This is all by design.

Following the steps you outlined above doesn't rasterise any layer (or you forgot some step). If the locked layer is selected the Erase Tool will simply erase the areas where you paint on. No rasterisation occurs because the layer you are working with is already a pixel layer from start. Maybe there's some action you didn't detailed - can you check the steps again please?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Please note the Annual Company Closure section in the Terms of Use. These are the Terms of Use you will be asked to agree to if you join the forum. | Privacy Policy | Guidelines | We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.