Jump to content
mfarooqi

[Duplicate] Press Esc key to cancel any command

Recommended Posts

 Hello Sir,  Once again i'm sorry if somebody has requested for this feature or reported this bug...  but this is too important and annoying. 

The use of "Esc" key in very proper way... 

The default use of "Esc" is "don't apply these changes and close this opened command."

suppose I've opened an image, and pressed "command+m" it will open Curve Adjustment, now there is no use of "Esc" you have to manually press "close" button.. but even if i pressed close button, or clicked outside that Curves Adjustment applies.. I've to manually select that layer and delete it. and the delete button on "Curves" dialogue box is un-necessary

image.thumb.png.c8c4e566d2820ccc6e7284254b83f2d7.png

 

 

Secondly, if I pressed command+t it will load a big box of text, and no esc works on it and one has to close that box manually. too annoying.. "BTW try Laptops and see how difficult it becomes to move full arm from keyboard to touchpad so repeatedly. 

 

image.thumb.png.ac6f4d8e3ca3357e06aa7f7930197e86.png

 

 

Similarly , if I used erase brush or any color brush, it pixelate image without letting me know if I really want this to happen or not. This should first ask "If i really want to pixelate it or not" And if I press "Esc" it shouldn't pixelate the image so I could do that manually (after making a backup layer). Because there is no "smart" object option in AP, so once image is "not pixelated" it is already smart object and can be scaled up or down, but once it is pixelated, all information is lost and that can't be scaled up anymore. So there should be a "confirmation" dialogue instead of "you are already killed" dialogue.

 

image.png.91d9a281f45de6d02a614577fa631966.png

 

 

 

And there, where escape shouldn't close the box, it is totally ruining the system.   in system preferences, if I accidentally changed anything.. the press of "Esc" not only applies that, but also closes that ..

 

OMG.. what change did I do?..

image.thumb.png.dd1584323cc69ad654fbbc97bfffe6fa.png

 

 Please make "Esc" to just go to Preferences's home view and remove the "close" button and change that  to "save/apply". And "close" button here and "x" button on the top are same. if some change is made, the "esc" shouldn't apply that but go to Preferences's home view.  

This all goes to.. "MESH TOOL",  "Transform", "etc" ...  "Enter/Return" to "apply" and "Esc to Cancel"

I hope these changes will put some ease in life.. 

 

Thank you

MacOS Catalina - 10.15 (19A602)
Affinity Photo 1.7.3

Macbook Pro -mid 15, 15inch.

Edited by mfarooqi
I copied it from feedback to bugs page.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi @mfarooqi,

I've moved this to feature requests as it's not a bug. 

On 10/25/2019 at 7:16 AM, mfarooqi said:

Similarly , if I used erase brush or any color brush, it pixelate image without letting me know if I really want this to happen or not. This should first ask "If i really want to pixelate it or not" And if I press "Esc" it shouldn't pixelate the image so I could do that manually (after making a backup layer). Because there is no "smart" object option in AP, so once image is "not pixelated" it is already smart object and can be scaled up or down, but once it is pixelated, all information is lost and that can't be scaled up anymore. So there should be a "confirmation" dialogue instead of "you are already killed" dialogue.

You can change this option in the Develop assistant to "Take no action". 

Also duplicate of 

 

Thanks,

Gabe. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Please note the Annual Company Closure section in the Terms of Use. These are the Terms of Use you will be asked to agree to if you join the forum. | Privacy Policy | Guidelines | We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.