Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'AFD-874'.



More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • Affinity Support
    • News and Information
    • Affinity Support & Questions
    • Feature Requests & Suggestions
  • Learn and Share
    • Tutorials (Serif and Customer Created Tutorials)
    • Share your work
    • Resources
  • Bug Reporting
    • Report a Bug in Affinity Designer
    • Report a Bug in Affinity Photo
    • Report a Bug in Affinity Publisher
    • (Pre 1.7) Affinity Range Bugs Forums
  • Beta Software Forums
    • Affinity Designer Beta Forums
    • Affinity Photo Beta Forums
    • Affinity Publisher Beta Forums

Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End


Group


AIM


MSN


Website URL


ICQ


Yahoo


Jabber


Skype


Location


Interests

Found 1 result

  1. It appears that Affinity Designer does not always write changes back to the original file. These changes are then flushed when the document is closed. This behavior can easily be observed in Finder by noting the file modification date and/or size, which do not change when the file is saved in Affinity Designer. However, the file modification date and size are updated once the document is closed. It appears that changes are being written to a temporary document in another location while the document is closed and then "committed" to the original file only when the document is closed. This behavior may be dependent on file size, at was only exhibited for larger files -- my smaller files appear to be written back to their original location immediately. This behavior is problematic, as it breaks our workflow in serious ways. For example, without closing the document: i) Other computers and users that share the same DropBox account don't see changes, even though they were explicitly saved in Affinity Designer. ii) Modifications may not be backed up to Time Machine as long as the file remains open in Affinity Designer. iii) Changes will not be flushed/committed back to the original file in the event that the app crashes. iv) It makes working with a version control system such as a Git or Subversion problematic, as the VCS will not "see" the changes until the file is closed. This interrupts our workflow where we expect to be able to commit changes to the repository without having to always close the document to ensure that the changes are written back to the original location. I have no idea whether this behavior is a bug or by design, but it needs to change. Buffering changes to a temporary location is OK to ensure that data is not lost by a crash, but changes should *always* be written back to the original file location whenever the user explicitly saves the file.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Please note the Annual Company Closure section in the Terms of Use. These are the Terms of Use you will be asked to agree to if you join the forum. | Privacy Policy | Guidelines | We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.